chumby on everything

March 9, 2009

In the past we have discussed that chumby is really a service, more than simply a product (though it’s a great product too: buy one!).  The whole point of chumby is to enable your own personalized, always-on, at-a-glance, multimedia internet on any connected screen-based device you choose.  Consider chumby the internet, appropriately delivered, for consumer electronics: photo frames, clock radios, even your TV.  We’re not just talking about this as a vision, we’re showing it…today.  So here’s a video clip that lets you in on the fun.

19 Responses to “chumby on everything”

  1. Mr UK Says:

    Buy one? I’d love to – however, since the Chumby company doesn’t acknowledge Europe, you still won’t let me. It’s pathetic of you!


  2. I have a chymby and had to buy it through Amazon as Chumby does not recognize Asia (I’m in Singapore). I love my chumby as does the family, and I would love to see chumby on a liveCD so that I can bring it along with me and boot up any machine to my chumby.

  3. chumby Says:

    We do sell chumbys outside the U.S., currently in Japan and Australia. News coming soon on other countries across other oceans :^)

  4. Andrew Says:

    The Chumby is an interesting product but I am simply not going to buy one if it is going to force advertisements on me. When you’re willing to sell me a Chumby that is 100% commercial free let me know.


  5. Now this is exciting. This seems like the natural evolution of the Chumby DNA.

    As a chumby widget developer, I find the widget platform to be a robust and feature-rich way to publish software. The only drawback to building widgets for Chumby is that current Chumby hardware has a smaller market share compared to other platforms such as iPhone and Google Gadgets.

    Opening up the syndication of widgets to new hardware is a smart move and has rekindled my interest.


  6. […] Chumby on everything In the past we have discussed that chumby is really a service, more than simply a product (though it’s a great product too: buy one!). The whole point of chumby is to enable your own personalized, always-on, at-a-glance, multimedia internet on any connected screen-based device you choose. Consider chumby the internet, appropriately delivered, for consumer electronics: photo frames, clock radios, even your TV. We’re not just talking about this as a vision, we’re showing it…today. So here’s a video clip that lets you in on the fun. […]

  7. wayn3w Says:

    I know what a Chumby is — it’s the small, somewhat squishly desk- or table-top device. But what are you calling this networked service that enables rich media on capable devices?

    wayn3w

    PS. Chumby the hexapus is speaking market-ese! Seriously, who did the talking here?

  8. Beau Says:

    @Andrew

    I had similar feelings initially but went ahead and got one anyway. For what it’s worth, after running the Chumby for months, I’ve only noticed ads once or twice and they didn’t bother me in the least. It’s not at all like other ad-based services that force them on you, such as YouTube that has annoying mid-video popups pretty regularly and my Chumby has never shouted at me about winning a Nintendo Wii.

    If that starts happening, I’ll be the first to chuck it out window.

  9. Adrian Says:

    I love that TV thing where all the widgets are lined up at the bottom. Where can I get one? I’m surprised all those devices have touchscreens. Really, where did you get those? And why is there a whole big part of the video just for a chumby logo?

  10. sound79 Says:

    wow!! It’s lovely device. I’m alreay have a chumby, but I can’t ~~ anyway,,,, after see this video, I decide to develop chumby’s software..


  11. […] a service” from the Chumby Industries blog.  I had an idea of what they meant by it, but the video they recently posted makes it clear, and it’s kinda […]

  12. Mark Says:

    “We do sell chumbys outside the U.S., currently in Japan and Australia. News coming soon on other countries across other oceans”

    Didnt we hear that before ? It’s amazing given the potential in the UK for internet radios gievn how dire DAB is here that you haven’t launched in the UK yet


  13. @Mark –

    You can’t just arbitrarily decide one day to ship to the UK – there are lots and lots of regulatory and logistical issues that have to be addressed. We’re fast-tracking this and hope to be able to announce something soon.

    Note that neither the Microsoft Zune nor the Amazon Kindle, both made by much larger companies with much more resources than Chumby Industries, also do not ship to the UK. Obviously, it’s not a simple process.

    Some countries (fortunately not the UK, so far) have companies that have threatened to sue us if we sell there.

  14. Jonny Says:

    Can I get this stuff on anything today other than that squishy thing or is this all in the lab?

    When will you start selling Chumby TVs and Chumby frames to compliment your existing hardware? I searched but could only find your squishy thing today? Will your other hardware be available for this holiday season?


  15. Way cool. I am eager to see the photo frames with the Chumby software on it. Please let us know more details.

  16. Alan Says:

    A few of us have the Chumby in the UK, and as a owner of several Internet radios, feel that such a multimedia device would be warmly welcomed if on general release here.


  17. As of April 3, 2009, the chumby is available for sale to the UK through store.chumby.com

  18. chumby Says:

    We just arbitrarily decided one day to ship them there.

    :^)

  19. Russ Gallagher Says:

    Hi guys, who are your Australian sellers?

    Russ


Leave a Reply

